Home / Politics / President Mugabe replaces fired ministers

President Mugabe replaces fired ministers

PRESIDENT Robert Mugabe has filled the cabinet posts left vacant following the sacking of eight ministers accused of working with former vice president Joice Mujuru in an alleged plot to topple him from power.

The new ministers would be sworn into office at State House on Friday morning.

In a statement announcing the changes Thursday night, cabinet secretary Misheck Sibanda said first vice president Emmerson Mnangagwa would retain charge of the justice ministry while second vice president Phelekezela Mphoko, would also be responsible for national healing, peace and reconciliation.

Simon Khaya Moyo, demoted from Zanu PF national chairman to party spokesman, is the new Minister of economic planning. He was previously senior minister of state in the president’s office.

Former deputy foreign affairs minister Chris Mutsvangwa is understood to be the new minister of welfare services for war veterans, war collaborators and ex-detainees.

Supa Mandiwanzira, who was deputy information minister is the new Information Communication Technology Minister, replacing the sacked Webster Shamu.

Elsewhere, Prisca Mupfumira replaces the fired Nicholas Goche as labour and social services minister while Chris Mushowe becomes the new minister of youth and indigenisation, taking over from Francis Nhema.

Samuel Undenge, who was deputy finance minister is the new energy minister, taking over from Dzikamai Mavhaire while Oppah Muchinguri replaces Olivia Muchena as higher education minister.


Name and Portfolio

E Mnangagwa: Vice President

P Mphoko: Vice President

P Mupfumira: Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Services

O Muchinguri: Minister of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development

S Udenge: Minister of Energy and Power Development

C Mushohwe: Minister of Youth Development, Indegenisation and Economic Empowerment

S Mandiwanzira: Minister of Information, Communication Technology and Courier Services

C Mutsvangwa: Minister of Welfare Services for War Veterans, War Collaborators, Former Political Detainees and Restrictees

B Matiza: Minister of State for Mashonaland East Province

C Chimene: Minister of State for Manicaland Province

T Muzenda: Deputy Minister of Energy and Power Development

M Mutsvangwa: Deputy Minister of Information, Media and Broadcasting Services

Check Also

Margaret Dongo #Zimbabwe Politician and Human Rights activist #ZimBabes

Margaret Dongo is a trailblazing Zimbabwean politician, social commentator, human rights activist, former Member of …

error: Content is protected !!