Boks name first black captain

CAPE TOWN. — Flanker Siya Kolisi will become South Africa’s first black Test rugby captain in the three-match series against England next month.

The 26-year-old — who has played 28 international Tests — replaces the injured Warren Whiteley as captain.

Pieter-Steph du Toit will captain the Springboks in Saturday’s match against Wales in Washington DC, USA.

Rassie Erasmus, the SA Rugby director, confirmed the two appointments yesterday morning at a media conference at the team hotel in Johannesburg. Erasmus, who took over the coaching reins of the Springboks after his appointment in April, also confirmed the Springboks’ 26-man travelling squad for the Welsh encounter in Washington.

The squad members not involved in the Welsh match will stay behind in Johannesburg to continue with their preparations for the coming international season. Erasmus congratulated Kolisi and Du Toit on their respective appointments. Both men will captain the Springboks for the first time.

“I believe both of them will do a good job as captains,” said head coach Eramus.

“It is a huge honour to captain the Springboks and Siya and Pieter-Steph are two honest, hard-working men who enjoy the respect of their fellow players.

“My philosophy is that each player must take responsibility for his position and must therefore work extremely hard with that one goal in mind — to make the Springboks successful again,” added Erasmus.

Forwards (16):

Nizaam Carr (loose forward, Stormers, 5, 0)

Dan du Preez (loose forward, Sharks, 3, 0)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock, Stormers, 32, 20 – 4t)

Thomas du Toit (prop, Sharks, uncapped)

Jason Jenkins (lock, Bulls, uncapped)

Steven Kitshoff (prop, Stormers, 23, 5 – 1t)

Wilco Louw (prop, Stormers, 5, 0)

Frans Malherbe (prop, Stormers, 17, 0)

Bongi Mbonambi (hooker, Stormers, 14, 5 – 1t)

Oupa Mohojé (loose forward, Cheetahs 18, 0)

Ox Nche (prop, Cheetahs, uncapped)

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward, Stormers, uncapped)

Marvin Orie (lock, Lions, uncapped)

Chiliboy Ralepelle (hooker, Sharks 23, 5 – 1t)

Kwagga Smith (loose forward, Lions, uncapped)

Akker van der Merwe (hooker, Sharks, uncapped)

Backs (10):

Curwin Bosch (utility back Sharks, 1, 0)

André Esterhuizen (centre, Sharks, uncapped)

Warrick Gelant (fullback, Bulls, 2, 5 – 1t)

Travis Ismaiel (wing, Bulls, uncapped)

Elton Jantjies (flyhalf, Lions, 23, 203 – 2t, 38c, 39p)

Jesse Kriel (centre, Bulls, 29, 40 – 8t)

Makazole Mapimpi (wing, Sharks, uncapped)

Embrose Papier (scrumhalf, Bulls, uncapped)

Ivan van Zyl (scrumhalf, Bulls, uncapped)

Cameron Wright (scrumhalf, Sharks, uncapped) — Sport24.

Source :

Check Also

Zimbabwe: Clubless Warriors Trio Still Looking for a Home

By Eddie Chikamhi THREE Zimbabwe internationals, including Warriors vice-captain Ovidy Karuru, are still guessing where …

This function has been disabled for Zimbabwe Today.