Breaking News: Mujuru and allies out

Under fire Vice President, Dr Joice Mujuru is leading a host of Zanu PF bigwigs who have fallen by the wayside after losing in Central Committee elections held in various provinces.

Joining Dr Mujuru are several cabinet ministers, among them Cdes Lazarus Dokora, Nicholas Goche, Cde Dzikamai Mavhaire, Walter Mzembi, Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, Flora Bhuka and Francis Nhema, who all lost their Central Committee membership.


In Mashonaland Central Province, Dr Mujuru and Cde Dokora had their CVs rejected by the Provincial Executive Council, which met in Bindura at the weekend while Cde Goche withdraw his nomination amid allegations that he was at the forefront of an assassination plot against President Robert Mugabe and for fanning factionalism.
Others who lost in the province are Cde Alice Chimbudzi and Cde Stefan Mukusha, with the former not submitting her CV.

Cde Mukusha failed to garner enough votes in Muzarabani where Cde Edward Raradza retained his seat and was joined by Cde Hillary Mombeshora, Cde Isaiah Musona and Cde Veronica Chiweshe.
In Bulawayo Province, Cdes Angeline Masuku, Absolom Sikhosana, Sikhanyiso Ndlovu and Molly Mpofu have failed to make it into the Central Committee.

Cde Masuku lost to two candidates from Area 5- Cde Charles Chiponda and Phelekezela Mphoko.

In Area 4, Alderman David Ndlovu edged Cde Absalom Sikhosana, while Cde Killian Sibanda got the Central Committee post unopposed.

Cde Ndlovu also lost in Area 3 to Cde Joseph Chuma and Cde Migan Sikhosana, while Cde Mpofu lost the elections in the women’s quota in Area 1 where there were seven candidates.

Cde Joshua Malinga Dube and Emmanuel Kanjoma made it into the Central Committee in Area 2.

Ten candidates have battled it out with Cde Godfrey Malaba and Anna Moyo emerging the winners.

The Deputy National Secretary for the Women’s League, Cde Eunice Moyo said the election was free and fair and held in a peaceful environment.

She challenged the new team to work hard so that Bulawayo wins the 2018 elections.

As if that was not enough, more shocking results were recorded in the Midlands Province, where political heavy weights Cde Nhema, Cde Mumbengegwi and Cde Buka lost.

Cde Nhema polled 61 votes to lose to Cde Emmanuel Fundira who polled 105.

Cde Mumbengegwi also fell by the wayside losing to Cde Thomas Gandire by 81 to 50 votes.

In Gokwe North, the former Secretary for Administration in the Women’s League, Cde Flora Bhuka lost her central committee seat to Cde Leonard Chikomba who got 169 votes.

Cde Buka garnered 74 votes.

The central committee elections were initially postponed pending disciplinary hearing in the two districts of Gokwe North and Shurugwi.

Provincial party spokesperson, Cde Cornellious Mupereri said the elections were held following a directive by the Politburo for the suspended members to participate in the process.


In Mashonaland East, Politburo member and former cabinet minister, Dr Herbert Murerwa is the biggest casualty after he lost in Goromonzi to Cde Paddy Zhanda, Cde Golden Mujawo, Cde Malvern Matimura and Cde Felix Zhangazha.

Another senior politician from the province, who will not be in the Central Committee, is Marondera West legislator, Retired Brigadier General Ambrose Mutinhiri who did not seek re-election.

Retaining their seats are Cde Sidney Sekerakayi, Cde David Parirenyatwa and Cde Joel Biggie Matiza, while new entrants include the Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Cde Marbel Chinimona, Cde Edgar Mbwembwe, Cde Mike Bimha and Cde Jerry Gotora.

Former Mashonaland East Provincial member, Cde Lawrence Katsiru has bounced back after winning the elections in Marondera district.
In Matabeleland North province, Politburo member Cde Samuel Mugandi of Binga is the only major casualty after a clean defeat by Cde Joshua Muzamba in the polls.

Matabeleland North provincial chairman Cde Richard Moyo said the elections were peaceful, free and fair in all the seven districts of the province.

The rest of the party big wigs Professor Jonathan Moyo of Tsholotsho, Secretary For Economic Affairs Dr Obert Mpofu of Umguza, Speaker of Parliament Advocate Jacob Mudenda of Hwange, Deputy Secretary for Information And Publicity Ambassador Cain Mathema of Tsholotsho, Cde Thokozile Mathuthu of Hwange and Cde Sithembiso Nyoni of Nkayi were all elected unopposed.

Check Also

Zimbabwe: Adhere to Covid-19 Protocols or Else – Minister

By Mukudzei Chingwere Herald Reporter Government will not hesitate to re-introduce tough Covid-19 control measures …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This function has been disabled for Zimbabwe Today.