Mutasa defeated, awaits Mugabe’s mercy

Zanu-PF secretary for Administration Cde Didymus Mutasa yesterday lost his Central Committee bid after failing to garner enough votes to keep his place in the powerful organ in elections held in Makoni District, amid allegations that he was at the forefront of a plot to assassinate President Mugabe. In Harare, Politburo members Cdes Tendai Savanhu and Charles Tavengwa, Cde Noah Mangondo, Cde Bonface Karoro, Cde Bright Banda, Cde Tsitsi Jadagu and Idah Mashonganyika had their applications for Central Committee posts rejected.


The group was accused of fanning factionalism and plotting to unseat the President at the party’s Sixth National People’s Congress slated for next week.
Cde Mutasa now waits to see if the President will include him among 10 members of the Central Committee he is entitled to appoint. Cde Mutasa polled just 85 votes against Dr Joseph Made (163), Cde Florence Majachani (169), Cde Mandi Chimene (141) and Cde Patrick Chimanasa (177).

One has to be a member of the 245-strong Central Committee to be considered for a post in the Politburo, which is the secretariat of the Central Committee.

Most Politburo members who lost the elections were linked to Vice President Joice Mujuru who had roped them into her bid to topple the President.

In Mutare, transport mogul Cde Isau Mupfumi retained his seat and was joined by academic Dr Ellen Gwaradzimba.
In Nyanga, former legislator Cde Paul Kanzama and Nyanga North National Assembly member Cde Hubert Nyanhongo were voted as the new Central Committee members.

In Buhera, Cdes Joseph Chinotimba, Saul Nzuma and William Mutomba sailed through, while in Chipinge, Cdes Morris Sakabuya, Win Mlambo and John Chirimambowa are the new office holders.


Check Also

Zimbabwe: Adhere to Covid-19 Protocols or Else – Minister

By Mukudzei Chingwere Herald Reporter Government will not hesitate to re-introduce tough Covid-19 control measures …

This function has been disabled for Zimbabwe Today.