Nine qualify for ZITF miler

Allen Khumalo, Sports Reporter
NINE runners qualified for the semi-finals of the ZITF Coca-Cola Four-Minute Mile in events held at Morris Depot and the National Sports Stadium in Harare over the weekend.

After the weekend qualifiers, 16 athletes have now qualified for the semis that will be held at White City Stadium on the eve of the final set for the ZITF Main Arena on April 29.

The Coca-Cola Four Minute Mile is a competition for men with a qualifying time of four minutes 31 seconds.

The competition’s qualifiers are held throughout the country in National Athletics Association of Zimbabwe (Naaz) events to give athletes from all corners of the country an opportunity to take part.

In qualifiers held on Saturday at Morris Depot, independent runner Nyasha Mutsetse booked his place in the semis after clocking four minutes 21.19 seconds.

The Black Rhinos’ quartet of Levinson Mapfuwa (4:21:58), Trust Hove (4:24:91), Tendai Zimuto (4:27:48) and Blessing Whyson 94:28:29) also qualified for the semis.

Nomore Wikiri from the Zimbabwe Prisons and Correctional Service (ZPCS) clocked 4:24:51 while Nyasha Chiuswa of Amen Academy clocked 4:28:28.

Sunday’s qualifier at the National Sports Stadium saw Vareri Wellington of Amen Academy crossing the line in 4.17.15, while Black Rhinos’ Bornface Jeki finished the race in 4:22:28.

Bulawayo Athletics Board (BAB) chairperson Manuel Mpofu said the last round of qualifiers will be held on March 25.

“We are still inviting more athletes to come forward and register to try their luck. The door is still open because we are hoping to send a lot of athletes to the semis in order to have a more competitive race considering that we are targeting more than 20 athletes for the final. So far the qualifiers have been tough and only a few have managed to make the qualifying times. I just want to urge all athletes to come forward and try their luck,” said Mpofu.

List for semi-finals

Titus Nyathi (Bindura), Titus Nyathi (LM Academy), Thando Maphosa (Sparrows), Caliscious Moyo (LM Academy), Ammon Moyo (Sparrows), Trust Chidomaya (ZRP), Dumo Mkhwananzi (Sparrows), Willard Mutasa (HQ1 Brigade), Nyasha Mutsetse (Independent), Levinson Mapfuwa (Black Rhinos), Trust Hove (Black Rhinos), Tendai Zimuto (Black Rhinos), Blessing Whyson (Black Rhinos), Nomore Wikiri (ZPCS), Nyasha Chiuswa (Amen Avademy), Vareri Wellington (Amen Academy), Bornface Jeki (Black Rhinos).


Source :

Check Also

Zimbabwe: Welch Scores Blistering Century for Foxes 2nd XI

By Eddie Chikamhi Zimbabwean Nick Welch scored a blistering century for Leicestershire Foxes second XI …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This function has been disabled for Zimbabwe Today.