Takura Zimbabwe singer

Takura Tendayi is a Zimbabwean singer/songwriter and member of the band Door Policy alongside producer Bibby Jones. He is well known for his frequent collaborations with Chase & Status and Sub Focus, as well as many other dubstep and drum and bass artists. His guest appearances have accumulated over seventeen million YouTube views, and “Flashing Lights” has charted in the United Kingdom at No. 98 in the UK Singles Chart and No. 15 in the UK Dance Chart. He also co-wrote Rihanna’s 2009 single “Wait Your Turn” which alone has over seventeen million YouTube views and charted at No. 45 in the UK Singles Chart. On 10 September, Door Policy released the three-track EP No Cover Charge for free download. It features a guest appearance from “Traktor” singer L Marshall.



Year Album Label
2013 No Cover Charge (as Door Policy) All Day Breakfast


As lead artist

Year Song
2014 “Sun Goes Down”

As featured artist

Year Song Album Label
2011 “Flashing Lights”
(Chase & Status and Sub Focus featuring Takura)
No More Idols Mercury Records
2012 “Led Astray”
(by Friction, featured vocals)
Led Astray EP Shogun Audio
(by Dream Mclean, featured vocals)
Non-album single MTA Records
“Pop Off”
(Maxsta featuring Takura)
2013 “The Coming Storm”
(Freestylers and Stereo:Type featuring Takura)
The Coming Storm Rub-A-Duck
“Refuse To Love”
(by Loadstar, featured vocals)
Future Perfect RAM Records
“Rage Within”
(The Prototypes featuring Takura)
Non-album single Shogun Audio
“Zimma Frame”
(Show N Prove featuring Takura)
All Around the World
(Shadow Child featuring Takura)
Collected Food Music
2014 “2 Late”
(SLOWOLF featuring Dream Mclean and Takura)
Wolf Grey EP SLOWOLF Records
“My Money”
(SLOWOLF featuring Dream Mclean, Felix De Luca, Takura and Wil Cousin)
(Tinchy Stryder featuring Takura)
360° Cloud 9
2016 “Access Denied”
(P Money, Big Narstie and Example featuring Takura)
Non-album single Not on label
“Original Badman”
(Star.One featuring Takura and Agent Sasco (Assassin))
Non-album single Sony

Other appearances

Year Song Release Label
2008 “Can’t Get Enough”
(by Chase & Status, featured vocals)
More Than Alot RAM Records
(Chase & Status featuring Takura)
(Chase & Status featuring Takura)
“Is It Worth It”
(Chase & Status featuring Takura)
2009 “Follow the Light” (Vocal Mix)
(by Sub Focus, featured vocals)
Rock It / Follow the Light
“World of Hurt”
(by Sub Focus, featured vocals)
Sub Focus
“Coming Closer”
(Sub Focus featuring Takura)
“Wait Your Turn”
(by Rihanna, as writer)
Rated R Def Jam
2010 “Is It Worth It VIP”
(Chase & Status featuring Takura)
End Credits RAM Records
“Sick Note”
(by Example, featured vocals)
Won’t Go Quietly Data
(by Kano, featured vocals)
Method to the Maadness BPM
2011 “No Problem”
(by Chase and Status, featured vocals)
No More Idols Mercury Records
2012 “Demons”
(by Delta Heavy, featured vocals)
Down the Rabbit Hole RAM Records
“Summer Days”
(Sigma featuring Takura)
Hospitality Summer Drum & Bass 2012 Hospital
“Have A Go”
(Swindle featuring Takura)
Need To Know Swindle Productions
“Drug Dealer”
(Plan B featuring Takura)
iLL Manors 679
“Memories (Come Back)”
(Don Diablo featuring Takura)
Lights Out EP Sony
(Jack Beats featuring Takura)
Careless OWSLA
(Rollz featuring Takura)
Firepod Pilot
2013 “The Coming Storm (VIP Mix)”
(Freestylers and Stereo:Type featuring Takura)
The Coming Storm (VIP Mix) Rub-A-Duck
(by Kove, as writer)
Measures MTA Records
(by Sub Focus featuring Alex Clare, as writer)
Torus RAM Records / Mercury
“Out of Reach”
(by Sub Focus featuring Jayelldee, as writer)
“Money Waster”
(by Marshall F, featured vocals)
Money Waster Black Butter Records
2014 “Overdose”
(SLOWOLF featuring Natalia and Takura)
Bounty EP SLOWOLF Records
(SLOWOLF featuring Raekwon, Benny Banks and Takura)
“Running Low”
(by Netsky featuring Beth Ditto, as writer)
TBA Sony
“I Need Cs”
(Context featuring Takura)
Hindsight is the Purest Form of Romance Self-released
2015 “Fossa”
(Kiwi featuring Takura)
Animals EP Blasé Boys Club
(WiDE AWAKE featuring Takura)
Hard As Nails EP TBA

Unreleased tracks

Year Song
2012 “Is That You”
2012 “B.B.O.P (Baddest Bitch on the Planet)”
2012 “Kerosene”
(Drop Lamond featuring Takura)
2013 “Suffocating Me”
(Skream & Redlight featuring Takura)

Check Also

UK-Based Singer Drops Single

By Lemuel Chekai It’s a buffet spoiler for music lovers as another crooner, a rising …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This function has been disabled for Zimbabwe Today.